Booktown Writers
logo Home







Booktown Writers' Annual Short Story Competition 2014

Entries for the Short Story Competition 2014 are now open (link to Competition Rules and Entry Form)
Michael Malone

The judge for this years competition is Michael J Malone - Michael was born and brought up in the heart of Burnsí country, just a stoneís throw from the great manís cottage in Ayr. Well, a stone thrown by a catapult maybe. He has published over 200 poems in literary magazines throughout the UK, including New Writing Scotland, Poetry Scotland and Markings.

His debut novel, Blood Tears was released in 2012, followed by A Taste for Malice in June í13. His book about modern day successful Scots, Carnegieís Call was published in October 2012 and his most recent release is The Guillotine Choice.

The Booktown Writers formed in the summer of 2011 in Wigtown, Scotland's national Book Town and now number around fifteen members. We meet once a month on the first Tuesday of the month in the Quaker Meeting House in Wigtown. We have writers in the group at all stages of development, several with multiple publications of novels, biographies, poetry and short stories.  THe main focus of the group is prose writing in scripts, short stories, blogs and novels. 

The objectives of the Booktown Writers are to advance, improve and develop regional, national and international literature by:

  • Encouraging regional writers to develop their skills and increase their publications
  • Organising and supporting an annual international short story competition
  • Producing a themed anthology for publication once per year

We run workshops throughout the year to help develop our members skills. The atmosphere at meetings is fairly relaxed and we hope everyone is made to welcome regardless of experience level or publication history. Membership costs £25 per year and we have a £1 per person per meeting room hire and beverage charge. For more information please go to or email

Site updated April 2014
All material on this site © Booktown Writers 2012 onwards
No form of reproduction allowed without permission
Site managed by GaGoo